How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD in All 50 States
CBD is becoming increasingly popular each year as people learn about its amazing health benefits. But how old do you have to be to buy CBD?
In this article, we deal with the perplexities around the legal age for buying CBD in different states.
Let’s get to it.
Is CBD Legal in the US?
Before we get into the details regarding the CBD age limit, let’s discuss the legality of CBD in the US in general.
The short answer is yes, CBD is legal in the United States. However, there are a few caveats. Firstly, CBD must be derived from hemp, not marijuana, since marijuana is still illegal at the federal level.
Hemp, however, was legalized with the 2018 Farm Bill, so as long as your CBD product is derived from hemp (with less than 0.3% THC), it’s considered legal in the US.
The second caveat is that each state has its own laws regarding CBD. Some states have fully legalized both hemp and marijuana, while others have only legalized hemp.
CBD and Age Restrictions
This is where things get a bit complicated. Namely, the 2018 Farm Bill does not lay out any age requirements for individuals buying CBD. This means that, under federal law, people of all ages are permitted to buy CBD products in the United States.
However, the FDA issued a special CBD age requirement for different forms of CBD.
For example, if CBD comes in the form of a smokable flower or vaping oil it should be age-restricted (18+). On the other hand, other types of CBD (such as edibles, oils, or creams) are not restricted to a specific age.
As for the legal age to buy CBD (derived from hemp) online, the requirement is the same as in brick-and-mortar stores: you must be 18 years or older.
However, if you are buying CBD that is derived from marijuana, the age requirement depends on the state where you live. In states where marijuana is legal, you must be 21 years or older to purchase it.
Finally, in states where marijuana is not legal, it is illegal to buy CBD online regardless of your age.
CBD Age Restrictions by State
Here is a list of the age restrictions for purchasing CBD in all 50 states:
|No age limit||You must be at least 18 to buy CBD||You must be at least 21 to buy CBD|
As you can see, every state has its own rules. While you don’t have to be of legal age to buy CBD in Texas or Alabama, the same rule doesn’t apply to most US states.
Age Restrictions Outside the US
Here is a list of age restrictions in different countries:
- Canada: The legal age to buy CBD in Canada is 19, except for Alberta and Quebec, where the legal age is 18.
- Mexico: You must be at least 18 to buy CBD.
- Australia: To buy CBD in Australia, you must be 18 years old or older. Moreover, you need to have a prescription. In addition to that, To be considered legal, CBD products must contain at least 98% of CBD.
- New Zealand: You must be at least 18 to buy CBD.
- UK: You must be at least 18 to purchase CBD. However, parents are permitted to buy and give CBD to their children.
- Italy: There is no age restriction regarding the purchasing of CBD products with under 0.6% THC.
CBD oil is legal in all 50 states, but the minimum age to buy it depends on the state. So, how old do you have to be to purchase CBD? In most states, you have to be at least 18 years old.
However, there are a few states where the minimum age is 21 and a few states that haven’t set a minimum age yet.
On that note, before you buy CBD, check your state’s laws to know the age limit. And if you’re buying CBD online, make sure that the website you’re buying from is shipping to a state where CBD is legal.
How old do you have to be to buy CBD in New York?
You must be 18 years old or older to purchase CBD in New York and 21+ to buy CBD derived from marijuana.
The rules, however, prohibit selling, smoking and vaping CBD products to people under 21, such as pre-rolls and hemp flowers.
How old do you have to be to buy CBD in California?
In California, you must be at least 18 years of age to purchase hemp-derived CBD products and 21 to buy marijuana-derived CBD.
Is CBD legal for minors?
Technically yes. Under federal law, CBD derived from hemp is legal for minors and adults. However, some states have enacted their own laws that restrict the sale of CBD products to minors.
In most states, the minimum age is 18, but there are a few that require you to be 21, such as Maine, Tennessee, and Utah, whereas ten states impose no age restrictions.
So, how old do you have to be to buy CBD in the US? That depends on the state you’re in.